{ Real Wedding } N&A Part I

You might think this is a picture of jalebis – those yummy sugary deep fried treats that taste so perfect with a cup of tea or on a rainy day. But I am going to allow my imagination to run wild. To me it is some ancient script which all the priests read from in their sing song nasal voices . It could very well be that because I never ever got a word of what those priests are saying anyway! But, that’s just me and yes, those ARE jalebis. I would eat them all the time if they weren’t so sweet and oily and uhmm, dare I say it, unhealthy! The only time I would sneak one would be at a wedding which is exactly where I took this picture.

This wedding should’ve been posted a few months ago but since my favourite thing to do is to not do, it has taken me 4 months to post it. To be honest, I didn’t know where to start with this wedding, the decor, the clothes, the bride or the ceremony?! That’s the thing with Indian weddings- they are so intricate and carry on for a couple of days so you come away with so many photographs and I want to share them all but that isn’t possible, right?

After mulling over it,I finally decided I will show you some of the decor – and tease you before I show you the bride and groom! There were two days of celebration and they took place in the bride’s gorgeous farm house

 

The mehendi ceremony happened under a beautiful canopy decorated by pink and green cloth , strings of flowers and kaleeras hanging off the roof like little chandeliers!

Fuchsia pink and bright green(I am not great with colour names so if I have got them wrong-go ahead and correct me!) were the colours of the day and right from the tent to the chairs to the cushions were all draped in these colours. Though these are super bright colours and you could go quite wrong with them, they were in just right the doses and on that bright wintery morning, nothing would’ve looked better! I loved how they used the marigold flowers – very unusual and it was the first time I have seen them being used like this.

Can you spot the bride getting her mehendi done? She moved to the main tent area to be closer to the rest of the party.

On the next day, they switched the colours to orange and yellow, bright and cheerful – perfect for a reception party to celebrate the newly wedded couple! There is much to discuss about this wedding but for that you will have to wait my friends! The question is, can you?

All photographs by: Kismet Jewell Nakai

6 Responses to “{ Real Wedding } N&A Part I”

  1. Love it… my favourite thing to do is to NOT DO as well🙂 The colour in this just jumps off the page!! Stunning!

  2. You are a tease…it looks like it was an incredible, vibrant venue!

  3. Awesome, you really got me!!

  4. Lovely collection! Can’t wait to see the rest🙂

  5. love it!….looking forward for more pictures..

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

