Thursday Thoughts: The Magic of Music

I don’t think I really need to say this out loud because everyone probably feels the same way but I am going to say it anyway otherwise I don’t know how to start this post! What would life be without song and music? BLAND BLAND BLAND! I can’t imagine what I would do if I didn’t have music that I could relate to, sing along with, dance and jump around to. Especially since sometimes when I listen to a particular song, I remember something which I had completely forgotten about. That’s the magic of music. Memories, happy times,sad times, love and fun! Aren’t we blessed to have music in our lives?

Considering how important music is,I am surprised that it is ignored a lot at weddings. In Indian weddings, we rely on our DJ’s to play the most hip and happening Bollywood songs but that could also mean music you absolutely detest being played at your wedding, or if you actually wanted Pink Floyd but you got Himesh Reshamiya instead! Happened to a bride I know recently- she wasn’t happy! I think even if you had one or two songs that are special to you played at your wedding – it could change everything. Then you wouldn’t mind even Daler Mehendi! My point being, include some of YOUR music choices into your wedding.There are so many ways to do it.

First dances have become increasingly popular these days in Indian weddings and is the perfect time to play your favourite tune. Your song as your first dance!

Photo by Kismet

We all know how popular choreographed weddings are at our weddings – another perfect opportunity to include one of your faves.

Via

Another way, which is one of my favourites is to make a cd of all the songs special to the couple and to give everyone attending the wedding a copy! Makes for a perfect reminder of your day and everyone gets to enjoy some very carefully selected music, and of course very special.

Via Magpie Paper Works

Those are just a few ways of including your choice of music in your wedding but I have digressed completely from what I thought this post would be about. I asked a friend who is very knowledgeable about Hindi music for some of her all time favourite songs-love songs to be exact. I just feel strange writing that- favourite love songs.I don’t know why but I do. Anyway, this friend (who is going to be uber famous one day so I shan’t name her incase you bug me terribly just for her autograph or an introduction- unless you are a really cute boy then I will send her your number!) so yeah, this friend sent me such a loooong list of great songs- I don’t know if I can put them all into this one post but I will put a few so you can have a listen and enjoy this Thursday. Maybe I will make Sunday into song day !! So enjoy the music and make sure music plays a big(ger) part in your own wedding!

Here are some real oldies plus some not so oldies but  are pretty outdated now as well and they came out in the early 90’s. Makes me feel….old!!!

P.S. Whenever I listen to old hindi music , I feel like I should be sitting up in the hills somewhere with a hot cup of tea!mmmm

**Fresh Inspiration Every Thursday**

7 Responses to “Thursday Thoughts: The Magic of Music”

  1. You already know that I love this. You do not need to understand the language…the music speaks to you and tells you what it wants you to feel whether it is longing, desire, unrequited love, or passion. Music takes you to far away lands and allows you to leave the present to go to a land where only one language is needed. Love this post, Kis. It is so beautiful! xo

  2. I love the idea of CD favors! Music is so important – great post!

  3. Music is SO incredibly important at a wedding. I’ve been to two weddings in the past six months that had terrible DJ’s, and it really does affect the entire reception and how much fun everyone has!

  4. I did CD favors for my own wedding! And I love that first photo – just beautiful.

  5. Great post! Thanks for sharing🙂

    xo, chrissy
    The Perfect Palette

  6. Love this post one of my friend has a quote on their facebook page which says that Life without music would be an error, and I’d have to agree with that. Even when I have my headphones on and I am walking down the street, it seems as though I have my own personal movie theme music. I wouldn’t want to imagine a life without music.

    It would be a shame if you don’t get to pick your song, because in that moment is nice to have a musical cocoon that belongs to just you and your significant other. Mix CD = great idea. And the Hindi songs are beautiful, I love the way it doesn’t matter whether you understand the words or not, but a beautiful song in any language is still a beautiful song.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

