A 1000 questions about your wedding, 1 answer to your wedding design : Devika Narain 

Sensory Overload. This is what I experience most days when I surf the web/open my email/ go shopping/attend a wedding. There is just too much going on everywhere! At least too much for me to handle. It doesn’t help that I am really bad at filtering out the excess stuff.When there is too much stimuli , you will probably find me sitting in a corner- eyes shut,ears covered ,gently rocking myself back in to some state of normalcy. Don’t believe me? Come shopping with me. You will know then.

Boy,am I glad that I got married three years ago (!!) and don’t have to go through the process of what shall I wear, who shall we call, what will the place look like, who will take our photos….. the list is endless my to-be brides. Yes, it is fun and the ‘process’ is what you will remember but I am happy that I am done with that. The number of blogs out there with an ‘A-Z’ listing of every possible kind of vendor you can think of is incredible! Where do you start looking for a good florist? More importantly, where (and HOW) do you stop?!

The question arises- are we spoilt for choice or are we spoiling our choice ?

Perhaps this is a reason why TUB (The Unreal Bride, guys! Get with the program.) never got down to making a vendors section. Too many people, too many choices, bad filtering system. And yeah, maybe we are picky.

Suddenly , amongst the chaos something comes to your attention! Something as simple as a photograph of a flower arrangement like you have never seen before, or the most unique mandap and you dig deeper and what do you find?Beauty! The person behind this beauty I speak of is Devika Narain . From stalking her pretty posts of different destinations-gold deserts, blue beaches, white mountains,  she transformed them in to table settings, tents, vases filled with lemons, and fairy lights everywhere!

The Unreal Bride really desperately requires a dose of gorgeousness and inspiration to start this year off so thank god for Devika !

What does Devika have to say? “I love all things happy and have found a way to corral my background in literature and an ability to put pretty things together into one big party of a business. I grew up inspired by whatever sparked my imagination – from Paris to Sabyasachi to a deep-rooted love of bold, bright colors and vintage flea market finds. With an enticing and recognizable aesthetic I now create beautiful, fun weddings and parties with lots of little details.’

If you are planning your wedding, look no further, block out the noise-start and stop your search right here because I have no doubt in my mind that Devika won’t take your dreams and make them in to the most gorgeous reality. I can prove it too! Here are  photos from some of the weddings she has designed.

ff_0112 ff_0113

Rose petals and fairy lights 

ff_0114 ff_0115 ff_0116 ff_0117

This mehendi in Jaisalmer is one of my favourites- so blue, big patterns and the most amazing attention to detail.My mehendi would have looked like this (if I had had one!) .

ff_0118Picture1

This is a wedding in a STADIUM. Ever seen a stadium look so good? 

before:after

All photos are property of Devika Narain. No stealing without permission, please. 

If you want to join me in stalking Devika, you can find her on her website , her blog, her instagram (definitely need to follow her here) and facebook.

tablescape

Oh, and Happy New Year everyone!❤

Leave a Reply

