Blog Around The World II: Out of Africa # 3

Welcome to India! I am sure you have had your share of fun and inspiration in New Zealand and the UK!

It wasn’t long ago when I entered Bloggerland but things have grown so rapidly in the last ten months and exciting is hardly the word to explain how awesome the journey has been till now.  One of the best things to come out of it has been how many wonderful people I have ‘met’ because of the blog which is how I am writing this today. I wasn’t a part of the ‘Blog Around The World’ the first time around-I mean I was a part of it because I followed it like it was the new Harry Potter movie being released (super excited-over enthusiastic- lost sleep over it) but I wasn’t actively contributing to it. The whole concept blew me away- imagine coordinating blogs all around the globe to post at a certain time based around an inspirational photo shoot?! It seemed impossible and well,unreal!! But, these bloggers did it and it was a huge success! And now, today, I get to be a part of the second ‘Blog Around The World’!! Yipeee!! So much excitement! I have been looking forward to it for days and I am so grateful Alicia let me be a part of it. Before I say anything more- a few words from Alicia and ofcourse , the beautiful photos (I got greedy and put in more than one!) that brought us all together-

From Alicia-

Hello Lovelies! I am Alicia from The Charity Wedding and I am excited to present another round of Blog Around the World with some of my favorite wedding bloggers! I recently helped organized a styled shoot using the theme of a Vintage Desert Safari. Each blogger will be showcasing a photo from the shoot and sharing some tips, advice, or just some pretty-eye candy for you to enjoy! Be sure to visit all the blogs to make sure you catch all the goodness! Thanks so much to all of the participants!

 

Credits:

Just having returned from the best trip of my life –a safari holiday in Kenya , this photo shoot could not have been more perfect! I just wish I had some of the yummy cake to eat while I was there! My favourites are all the details- the acacia tree on the cake, the little buntings with the lion and cheetahs on it , the masks and the whole lot- it really feels like we are in Africa, right?

My contribution today to this blog journey are some face packs which you can whip together yourself at home , kinda like DIY beauty treatment! Why did I decide on this you wonder? Well, if you ever go on a safari and like me forget to take sun block (stupid me!) , then you will most definitely come back looking like a raccoon !!  Not a very pretty sight, if you ask me- I just wore my dark glasses through the rest of the trip so at least most of my face was the same shade.  If you happen to find yourself in the same predicament, fear not because I am here to help you out.

All these DIY face masks are thanks to a very dear friend of mine (thank you Green!) who is not only a fabulous cook but knows how to look after her skin so I think you can trust her completely. At a time when I didn’t even know what a manicure was (I hung out with my brothers friends ALOT :read tomboy), this girl used to come to school with french manicures! Now you know why she is my go to person in the beauty care department!

Home Remedies for cleansing your skin and treating sun burn:

  • Apply Aloe Vera gel on the affected areas and it will give you positive results in a week or two if applied regularly. 
  • Prepare a paste of turmeric powder and limejuice and apply it thrice a week. This will help lighten your skin tone. 
  • Apply a paste of oatmeal, yogurt, lime juice and tomato juice on your face and wash it with cold water after keeping it for half an hour. 
  • Make a paste of equal amounts of milk powder, lemon juice, honey and half the measure of almond oil and apply it on your face. Keep it for 10 – 15 minutes and then wash off. It adds a shine and glaze to your face. 
  • Slice potatoes and place on your face. It will also help you get rid of other marks.
  • Dried and powdered orange peels mixed with curd will help you get rid of blemishes.Keep the mixture on for 10 minutes and then wash it off. 
  • Applying the paste of freshly ground mint leaves for 15 minutes daily and then washing it off will give you good results in just 15 days. 
  • Mashed papaya also helps de-tan and cleanse your skin. You can also add honey to the pulp before applying it to your skin for better results.
  • Cod liver oil is also considered helpful in de-tanning skin.
(P.S. If you know anything about India, you will know most of us are obsessed in having a ‘fairer complexion’ .This is NOT advocating fairer skin but healthier skin. Had to put it out there ! I love a good tan but sunburn is a no-no and dangerous too! )

Let me know if these ever come handy , I would love to know how it worked out .

Anyway, enough from me- time for you to go on your next leg of the journey- off to Portugal you go to meet the sweetest person ever- Sofia of Brancoprata..  Have fun!!!!

Participants:

Starting from 9:00 am (EDT/New York Time) and posting every 15 minutes till 2:00 p.m- five hours of blogging fun!

1. Bubble Rock Studios (New Zealand) 2. Cap Classique (UK, South Africa) 3.The Unreal Bride (India) 4.Brancoprata (Portugal) 5.Bijoux Bride (UK) 6.Bridal Musings  (UK) 7.The Oceanside Bride (US) 8.Hey Gorgeous (US) 9.Sparkle and Hay (US) 10. Wedding Pickle (US) 11. The Perfect Palette (US) 12. Oh Lovely Day (US) 13. La Petite Coquin (US) 14.Brenda’s Wedding Blog (US) 15. Fab You Bliss (US) 16. Landlocked Bride (US) 17. Bow Ties and Bliss (US) 18. A Paper Proposal (US) 19. Engaged and Inspired (US) 20. The Charity Wedding (US) 

Follow #blogaroundtheworld #outofafrica on twitter!

17 Responses to “Blog Around The World II: Out of Africa # 3

  1. The cake is amazing but gosh I have to love the remedies…you are amazing my friend…got anything for the inherited dark circles? I am told it is inherited due to my heritage! I guess it’s OK since it’s a left over from some distant Caribbean Indians 🙂

  2. i love how your post has this lovely indian slant to it…. we just love our household remedies for things don’t we!!!! and thanks for letting me on to the #blogaroundtheworld journery!!!!

  3. that cake is SO amazing! & i love the bunting so much too! (p.s. so jealous of your trip!!!) xo

  4. Oh this is probably going to come in handy! I just moved to Florida and plan to frequent the beach A LOT! My shoulders and cheeks tend to get burnt!

  5. I LOVED what you wrote! I was so excited to be a part of this for the first time as well and it thrilled me beyond belief that our feature was Africa, one of the best places I have visited in my whole life. Oh…and your face pack is such an awesome idea, I’m writing it down for sure 🙂

  6. I love the cake, it is so wild like the safari forest. And so yummy too

  7. Haha, what a great post concept! Too cute! I’m actually nursing a sunburn of my own at the moment, so this will definitely help!!! 🙂

  8. I am LOVING everyone’s different ideas and takes! And I definitely need to try your DIY beauty treatment since I live in LA and am always in the sun (and pollution!) Great post!

  9. Thanks for sharing these brilliant DIY remedies ~ I look forward to getting messy in the kitchen trying them out! Alicia your comment cracked me up ~ I am of the pale persuasion too. Kismet, I’m sure you made the most beautiful raccoon! 🙂

  10. I have to say that i will follow your beauty treatment advice 😉 God knows i need it!!!!
    xoxo

  11. You made me lol with your raccoon comment! =) This is awesome Kismet and I’m sooo jealous of your recent holiday spent in Kenya! Must have been amazing! Great, great, great DIY home treatment tips too! I’ll be out in the sun very soon and these will def come in handy!

  12. Love your post! I can’t wait to try some of your tricks as it is SO dry here! I however do not need to lighten my skin or I might be invisible! Thank you so much!

  13. OMG! its beautiful

  14. Lovely post, Kismet! I’m so loving the idea of a DIY beauty treatment. That’s such a great idea! Thanks for sharing!

    xoxo, Chrissy
    The Perfect Palette

  15. What an awesome idea Kis!!! I love the home remedy… Ah! How I love #blogaroundtheworld!

Trackbacks

Leave a comment